Pathos: An Example

EPISTEMIC APPEAL TO PRACTICAL USE

By Herbert Vaughn

English: Pathos Transport Theater, Munich. Deu...
English: Pathos Transport Theater, Munich. Deutsch: Pathos Transport Theater in München. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

When this word, epistemic, (Webster: adjective; Of, or relating to, or involving knowledge; cognitive) first emptied itself into my consciousness I cringed, shivered, and became faint with excitement. For me it was like a New World Discovery. The word gave me a sense of empowerment. I felt like I had to owned it; like I had to somehow make it my very own. It was as if it had been just waiting for me and me alone–just waiting–folded amongst the dusty pages of philosophy; just waiting to define a moment. It wanted to define a moment–this moment– any moment; to make its presence known distinctively in my life and to all who come upon this page. It spewed its meaning across my consciousness. It was liberating–use me in a sentence it whispered…And without forethought I did.

I wrote this little ditty to play with the epistemic ideas of ethos, logos, pathos, and kairos. Here I have chosen pathos for my main rhetorical appeal.

(Pathos (/ˈpθɵs/; plural: patha or patheaGreekπάθος, for “suffering” or “experience;” adjectival form: ‘pathetic’ from παθητικός) represents an appeal to the audience’s emotions.[1] Pathos is a communication technique used most often in rhetoric–where it is considered one of the three modes of persuasion, alongside ethos and logos), and in literature, film and other narrative art.Wikipedia.Web)

Emotions are something every writer tries to manipulate and move in a certain desired direction. Mastering this writing method is something I would like to learn. Each one of the rhetorical appeals outlined this Assignment 3 is geared to developing this skill. The forethought and development put into this course is unimaginable. I like to thank all who had a hand in its development, even though I have had problems with the design. Collaborative learning is a relative new technique not often embraced by most academia. The didactic-rote-rubric learning model founded on those epistemic principles hold that correction and corrective criticism are the muscle needed to build a perfectly healthy learned body. This course has change my views considerably on the matter. I am currently involved with some technical course of in the area of computer sciences and find this diversion helpful. Being able to communicate in today’s multi-cultural-media environment requires many skills in the area of communication. Here at Coursera I should learn how do to that. What more can I say except maybe–thank you.

Consider this linked resource: http://streaming.osu.edu/mediawww/Coursera/Writing_II/BedfordStMartins/MROnCreativity/

Thanks.

Related articles

