Practical Counsel—Philippians 4:6-7

By kouros1950 (Aug 28, 2013)

Image from the Book of Kells, a 1200 year old ...
Image from the Book of Kells, a 1200 year old book. Category:Illuminated manuscript images (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

If video is a genre and Logic’s an argument; then the word of God is–without description and categorically timeless and historically verifiable.

Someone once asked me once:  “how do you find peace of mind?”

Immediately I thought of those times when I didn’t have Peace of mind—at all. And what did I do to get it?Then I remembered what Paul wrote in his letter concerning “peace-of-mind” to the “Philippians 4: 6-7.”.

Many a times in the sincere hopes that I would get out of the rut I was in; my life unmanageable. I read this scripture and peace that Christ found in the garden at Gethsemane–over took me.

It was enough for me. I mean, my best made strategies hadn’t produced anything positive so far. What was it that was robbing me of my peace-of-mind? Fear of failure, sin, inadequacies, weights, what? Whatever this “peace” the bible spoke of was mine for the price of a prayer.

Good mental health is really important. Without it the enemy can distort your faith and cause you to become disheartened. Do you know that Anxiety is a major cause of many addictions, mental and physical maladies today? Just be patient with God for “He is in Heaven and you are on earth.” His sense of timing is so beyond our realm of understanding that what Paul asked us to do in this scripture is sometimes very difficult for us to do.

Paul told the Philippians not to worry. Make your “requests known to him with thanksgiving” and wait you’ll see his power.

And finally, the Bible is one of the oldest books in print today. It has been published in more different languages than any other book to date. Gutenberg’s first publication at the finish of his printing press efforts was–a Bible. Hold it dear to your heart and it will lighten your path.

Be Blessed.

