Me & Mrs. Jones (in the beginning)

Since humans can not separate time from space, and physical and emotional healing can only take place in the space of time; and mortality being the enemy of both; all that remains now, is the memories of us. And just like we began, we ended: not knowing each other. Strangers. Our Bible tells us that if you have ought with your brother, ” you should leave your alms at alter and first take care of that.” And I no doubt had ought with you and you with me.

We both had time to make amends but either did. And now that time has proven to be the enemy of us both, One couldn’t and the other wouldn’t. I’m forced to address our troubles post mortum. Arrogance no doubt or maybe a deep sense of indignation played a part in my having done so. Either way, we had long ago said our good-byes. But memories are something no can control. They come and go as they please and intrude where they are least wanted and without warning. They appear at the most ipainfulnappropiate times: funerals, birthdays, holidays, and the ilk. So much of what I think about these days have to do with you, even now as I write this I’m recalling the first time we ever met:

You were to me, the prettiest woman I had ever seen in my twelve years of existence. I could not understand why anyone would let a woman as beautiful as you go. Your skin, a rich creamy chocolate. Your hair, shoulder length, a silky black. Even your teeth were pretty even with that gold on them.You smiled at me and I knew then that I could never really go back to live with the Reverend and his bullshit. I had finally found you. I had had only one painful memory of you prior to this day. It was worn and thither-ed … I had found you at last–Donnie Mae.Your were to rescue me from the mean world of Reverend’s or so I thought. But life is not like that, it doesn’t do what you think it should. It stretches you and pulls you in directions that you don’t wish to go. It ask things of you that not even a god should ask. And answers you not when you question it.

